Customer Service: 866-850-5999
AAACEUs.com

Create Account

Follow Us on Facebook!


Nursing Continuing Education Requirements by State
*Last Updated - 1/24/2017


State CE Requirements for RNs CE Requirements for LPNs Special Requirements
and Notes
State Governing Agency
Alabama 24 contact hours every 2 years for RNs. 12 contact hours allowed through independent study. 24 contact hours every 2 years for LPNs. 12 contact hours allowed through independent study. Four (4) contact hours of Alabama Board–provided continuing education related to Board functions, the Nurse Practice Act, regulations, professional conduct, and accountability is required for the first license renewal. RN licenses are valid from January 1 of each odd-numbered year and expires December 31 of each even-numbered year. Alabama Board of Nursing
Alaska RNs - two of the following three are required for license renewal: 30 contact hours, OR 30 hours professional nursing activities, OR 320 hours nursing employment. LPNs - two of the following three are required for license renewal: 30 contact hours, OR 30 hours professional nursing activities, OR 320 hours nursing employment. Alaska Board of Nursing Dept. of Commercial and Economical Development Division of Occupational Licensing
Arizona CE not required. CE not required. Arizona State Board of Nursing
Arkansas RNs: 15 contact hours every two years, or certification or recertification during the renewal period by a national certifying body, or completion of a recognized academic course in nursing or a related field. LPNs: 15 contact hours every two years, or certification or recertification during the renewal period by a national certifying body, or completion of a recognized academic course in nursing or a related field. Arkansas State Board of Nursing
California All RNs in the State of California who wish to maintain an active license are required to complete 30 hours of continuing education for license renewal. LVNs must complete 30 contact hours of Continuing Education every two years in order to renew their license with an active status State of California Board of Registered Nursing
Colorado CE not required. CE not required. Colorado Board of Nursing
Connecticut CE not required. CE not required. Connecticut Board of Examiners for Nursing Division of Health Systems Regulation
Delaware RNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every 2 years. LPNs are required to complete 24 contact hours every 2 years. Three (3) of the 30 hours must be in the area of substance abuse. Delaware Board of Nursing
District of Columbia 24 contact hours every 2 years. CE not required. 3.0 contact hours on HIV/AIDS is required, beginning with the 2016 renewal. District of Columbia Board of Nursing
Florida All Florida-licensed RNs are now in a 24-month renewal cycle and must complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period. One (1) contact hour is required for each calendar month of the licensure cycle, including two (2) hours on Prevention of Medical Errors. HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal. Domestic Violence CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal. For example, if you renew your license on January 31, 2007, you are required to complete the Domestic Violence CE before the January 31, 2011 renewal. All Florida-licensed LPNs are now in a 24-month renewal cycle and must complete 24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period. One (1) contact hour is required for each calendar month of the licensure cycle, including two (2) hours on Prevention of Medical Errors. HIV/AIDS is now a one-time, 1-hour CE requirement to be completed prior to the first renewal. Domestic Violence CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal. For example, if you renew your license on January 31, 2007, you are required to complete the Domestic Violence CE before the January 31, 2011 renewal. Click here to view our courses that were designed specifically for Florida. Florida Board of Nursing
Georgia 30 hours every 2 years 30 hours every 2 years Click here to view our courses that were designed specifically for Georgia.

See state website for additional renewal options
Georgia Board of Nursing
Hawaii CE not required. CE not required. Hawaii Board of Nursing Professional and Vocational Licensing Division
Idaho CE not required. CE not required. Idaho Board of Nursing
Illinois RNs are required to complete 20 contact hours every two years. LPNs are required to complete 20 contact hours every two years. Illinois Department of Professional Regulation
Indiana CE not required. CE not required. Indiana State Board of Nursing Health Professions Bureau
Iowa RNs and LPNs: For renewal of a three year license, the requirement is 36 contact hours; For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours. For reactivation from an inactive status, the requirement is 12 contact hours that are not more than 12 months old at the time the credit is submitted for reactivation For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. It is also required that RNs and LPNs who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat dependent adults or children in Iowa complete training related to the identification and reporting of child/dependent adult abuse. The licensee is required to complete at least two hours of training every five years. RNs and LPNs: For renewal of a three year license, the requirement is 36 contact hours; For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours. For reactivation from an inactive status, the requirement is 12 contact hours that are not more than 12 months old at the time the credit is submitted for reactivation For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. It is also required that RNs and LPNs who regularly examine, attend, counsel or treat dependent adults or children in Iowa complete training related to the identification and reporting of child/dependent adult abuse. The licensee is required to complete at least two hours of training every five years. For renewal of a license that has been issued for less than three years, the requirement is 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. Iowa Board of Nursing
Kansas RNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every 2 years. There is no maximum on the number of independent study hours that can be obtained. LPNs are required to complete 30 contact hours every 2 years. There is no maximum on the number of independent study hours that can be obtained. Kansas State Board of Nursing
Maine CE not required. CE not required. Maine State Board of Nursing
Maryland No CE required, but an approved refresher course is needed. CE not required. Maryland Board of Nursing
Massachusetts RNs are required to complete 15 contact hours every 2 years. LPNs are required to complete 15 contact hours every 2 years. Massachusetts Board of Registration in Nursing Division of Professional Licensure
Kentucky RNs must have proof of earning 14 approved contact hours; OR A national certification or recertification related to the nurse's practice role (in effect during the entire period or initially earned during the period); OR Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, coinvestigator, or project director. Must be qualitative or quantitative in nature, utilize research methodology, and include a summary of the findings; OR Publication of a nursing related article; OR A professional nursing education presentation that is developed by the presenter, presented to nurses or other health professionals, and evidenced by a program brochure, course syllabi, or a letter from the offering provider identifying the licensee’s participation as the presenter of the offering; OR Participation as a preceptor for at least one nursing student or new employee undergoing orientation (must be for at least 120 hours, have a one-to-one relationship with student or employee, may precept more than one student during the 120 hours, and preceptorship shall be evidenced by written documentation from the educational institution or preceptor’s supervisor); OR Proof of earning 7 approved contact hours, PLUS a nursing employment evaluation that is satisfactory for continued employment (must be signed by supervisor with the name, address, and phone number of the employer included), and cover at least 6 months of the earning period. Certain college courses may be used to meet the CE requirements. Nursing courses, designated by a nursing course number, and courses in physical and social sciences such as Psychology, Biology, and Sociology will count toward CE hours. LPNs must have proof of earning 14 approved contact hours; OR A national certification or recertification related to the nurse's practice role (in effect during the entire period or initially earned during the period); OR Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, coinvestigator, or project director. Must be qualitative or quantitative in nature, utilize research methodology, and include a summary of the findings; OR Publication of a nursing related article; OR A professional nursing education presentation that is developed by the presenter, presented to nurses or other health professionals, and evidenced by a program brochure, course syllabi, or a letter from the offering provider identifying the licensee’s participation as the presenter of the offering; OR Participation as a preceptor for at least one nursing student or new employee undergoing orientation (must be for at least 120 hours, have a one-to-one relationship with student or employee, may precept more than one student during the 120 hours, and preceptorship shall be evidenced by written documentation from the educational institution or preceptor’s supervisor); OR Proof of earning 7 approved contact hours, PLUS a nursing employment evaluation that is satisfactory for continued employment (must be signed by supervisor with the name, address, and phone number of the employer included), and cover at least 6 months of the earning period. Certain college courses may be used to meet the CE requirements. Nursing courses, designated by a nursing course number, and courses in physical and social sciences such as Psychology, Biology, and Sociology will count toward CE hours. Click here to view our courses that were designed specifically for Kentucky.

Additional Requirements - see State Website
Kentucky Board of Nursing
Louisiana RNs and LPNs: The annual continuing education requirement is based on employment: 5 contact hours (full-time nursing practice), 10 contact hours (part-time nursing practice), or 15 contact hours (not employed or worked less than 160 hours). RNs and LPNs: The annual continuing education requirement is based on employment: 5 contact hours (full-time nursing practice), 10 contact hours (part-time nursing practice), or 15 contact hours (not employed or worked less than 160 hours). For RNs with employer verified nursing practice of 1,600 hours or more for the current year (10 full months at 40 hours per week), a minimum of 5 contact hours of nursing CEs are required each year to renew. For an RN with employer verified nursing practice for the year was 159 hours or less - or - the nurse was either unemployed or self-employed for the current year, a minimum of 15 contact hours is required. For RNs whose employer verified nursing practice was between 160 hours to 1,599 hours for the current calendar year, the RN will need a minimum of 10 contact hours to qualify for annual renewal. Louisiana State Board of Nursing
Michigan All Michigan licensed nurses must complete 25 hours of board approved continuing education, with at least one hour in pain and symptom management, within the two years immediately preceding the expiration date of their license. All Michigan licensed nurses must complete 25 hours of board approved continuing education, with at least one hour in pain and symptom management, within the two years immediately preceding the expiration date of their license. Require one hour in pain and symptom management Michigan Department of Community Health Bureau Of Health Professions Michigan Board Of Nursing
Minnesota RNs must complete 24 contact hours every 2 years. LPNs must complete 12 contact hours every 2 years. Minnesota Board of Nursing
Mississippi CE not required. CE not required. Mississippi Board of Nursing
Missouri CE not required. CE not required. Missouri State Board of Nursing
Montana CE not required. CE not required. Montana State Board of Nursing
Nevada For relicensure, RNs and LPNs must have completed 30 hours of nursing-related continuing education in the previous 24 months, and must have completed the state-required bioterrorism course. For relicensure, RNs and LPNs must have completed 30 hours of nursing-related continuing education in the previous 24 months, and must have completed the state-required bioterrorism course. One-time mandatory Bio-Terrorism course of 4 hours Nevada State Board of Nursing
Nebraska Renewal requirements for RNs and LPNs: Must be 20 contact hours within the last renewal period. Must be related to the practice of nursing. At least 10 of the 20 hours must be formally peer reviewed and approved continuing education. Up to 4 hours may be CPR or BLS courses Renewal requirements for RNs and LPNs: Must be 20 contact hours within the last renewal period. Must be related to the practice of nursing. At least 10 of the 20 hours must be formally peer reviewed and approved continuing education. Up to 4 hours may be CPR or BLS courses No more than 4 hours are CPR or BLS classes Nebraska Deptartment of Health and Human Services Regulation and Licensure Credentialing Division Nursing Support Section
New Hampshire RNs and LPNs: 30 contact hours in 2 years immediately preceding license application including workshops, conferences, lectures or other education offerings designed to enhance nursing knowledge, judgment, and skills. There is no limit to the number of contact hours that can be completed through independent study. RNs and LPNs: 30 contact hours in 2 years immediately preceding license application including workshops, conferences, lectures or other education offerings designed to enhance nursing knowledge, judgment, and skills. There is no limit to the number of contact hours that can be completed through independent study. New Hampshire Board of Nursing
New Jersey Continuing Education requirements for New Jersey: 30 contact hours every two years for RNs Continuing Education requirements for New Jersey: 30 contact hours every two years for LPNs Mandatory one-hour tissue organ donation course required New Jersey Board of Nursing
New Mexico RNs are required to complete 30 hours of approved CE within the 24 months immediately preceding expiration of license. LPNs are required to complete 30 hours of approved CE within the 24 months immediately preceding expiration of license. New Mexico Board of Nursing
New York RNs are required to complete 3 contact hours infection control every 4 years; 2 contact hours child abuse (one time requirement for initial license); Programs must be from an approved provider. LPNs are required to complete 3 contact hours infection control every 4 years; Program must be from an approved provider. 2 hour child abuse course, 3 hour infectious control for healthcare professionals Division of Professional Licensing Services NY State Education Department Nurse
North Carolina RNs: For reistatement or relicensure, a plans for continued competence and completion of one of the following is required.
- National certification or re-certification by a national credentialing body recognized by the Board
- 30 contact hours of continued education
- Completion of a Board approved refresher course
- Completion of a minimum of two semester hours of post-licensure academic education related to nursing practice
- 15 contact hours of continued education and completion of a nursing project as principal investigator or co-investigator to include statement of problem, project objectives, methods, date of completion and summary of findings
- 15 contact hours of continued education and authoring or co-authoring a nursing related article, paper, book or book chapter
- 15 contact hours of continued education and developing and conducting a nursing continuing education presentation or presentations totaling a minimum of five contact hours, including program brochure or course syllabi, objectives, date and location of presentation, and approximate number of attendees
- 15 contact hours of continued education and 640 hours of active practice within previous 2 years
LPNs: For reistatement or relicensure, a plans for continued competence and completion of one of the following is required.
- National certification or re-certification by a national credentialing body recognized by the Board
- 30 contact hours of continued education
- Completion of a Board approved refresher course
- Completion of a minimum of two semester hours of post-licensure academic education related to nursing practice
- 15 contact hours of continued education and completion of a nursing project as principal investigator or co-investigator to include statement of problem, project objectives, methods, date of completion and summary of findings
- 15 contact hours of continued education and authoring or co-authoring a nursing related article, paper, book or book chapter
- 15 contact hours of continued education and developing and conducting a nursing continuing education presentation or presentations totaling a minimum of five contact hours, including program brochure or course syllabi, objectives, date and location of presentation, and approximate number of attendees
- 15 contact hours of continued education and 640 hours of active practice within previous 2 years
North Carolina Board of Nursing
North Dakota For RN license renewal, the nurse must meet the continued competence requirements. Included in this requirement is the completion of 12 contact hours of continuing education. All CE required for license renewal may be obtained online. For LPN license renewal, the nurse must meet the continued competence requirements. Included in this requirement is the completion of 12 contact hours of continuing education. All CE required for license renewal may be obtained online. See additional competency cycle options on tate website North Dakota Board of Nursing
Ohio RN relicensure requirement: 24 contact hours every 2 years. At least one contact hour must be related to Chapters 4723,1-23 of the Ohio nurse practice code and rules. LPN relicensure requirement: 24 contact hours every 2 years. At least one contact hour must be related to Chapters 4723,1-23 of the Ohio nurse practice code and rules. Click here to view our courses that were designed specifically for Ohio.

At least 1 contact hour must be related to Chapters 4723, 1-23 of the Ohio Nurse Practice Code - First time renewals exempt from continuing education
Ohio Board of Nursing
Oklahoma CE not required. CE not required. Oklahoma Board of Nursing
Oregon RNs: One-time requirement for seven hours of pain management-related CE. One hour must be a course to be provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission.The remaining six hours can be your choice of pain management topics. Once this requirement is fulfilled, there is no additional CE requirements for renewal. LPNs: One-time requirement for seven hours of pain management-related CE. One hour must be a course to be provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission.The remaining six hours can be your choice of pain management topics. Once this requirement is fulfilled, there is no additional CE requirements for renewal. Only CEU Requirement (a 1-time requirement): 7 hours of Pain Management Continuing Ed. 1 of the 7 hours must be a 1 hour courses provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission Oregon State Board of Nursing
Pennsylvania 30 contact hours every two years for RNs. CE not required. RNs renew either April 30 or October 30 odd and even years Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing
Rhode Island RNs are required to completre 10 contact hours every 2 years. Online courses are acceptable. LPNs are required to completre 10 contact hours every 2 years. Online courses are acceptable. Rhode Island Board of Nurse Registration and Nursing Education Office of Health Professionals Regulation
South Carolina Demonstration of competency for renewal of an active RN license biennially requires documented evidence of at least one of the following requirements during the licensure period: - Completion of thirty contact hours from a continuing education provider recognized by the board - Maintenance of certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the board - Completion of an academic program of study in nursing or a related field recognized by the board - Verification of competency and the number of hours practiced as evidenced by employer certification on a form approved by the Board Demonstration of competency for renewal of an active LPN license biennially requires documented evidence of at least one of the following requirements during the licensure period: - Completion of thirty contact hours from a continuing education provider recognized by the board - Maintenance of certification or re-certification by a national certifying body recognized by the board - Completion of an academic program of study in nursing or a related field recognized by the board - Verification of competency and the number of hours practiced as evidenced by employer certification on a form approved by the Board See state website for additional renewal options The State Board of Nursing for South Carolina: South Carolina State Board of Nursing
South Dakota CE not required. CE not required. South Dakota Board of Nursing
Tennessee Continuing Education for relicensure is not mandatory in Tennessee. However, mandatory continuing competency is required in Tennessee. In order to maintain continued competence, the board requires the nurse to have practiced in nursing in the last five (5) years and additionally, the Board sets out standards of competence and requirements to maintain competence. Continuing Education for relicensure is not mandatory in Tennessee. However, mandatory continuing competency is required in Tennessee. In order to maintain continued competence, the board requires the nurse to have practiced in nursing in the last five (5) years and additionally, the Board sets out standards of competence and requirements to maintain competence. See state website for competency requirements Tennessee State Board of Nursing
Texas RNs are require to complete 20 contact hours every two years. There is also a targeted 1-time, 2-contact hour CE requirement for any RN practicing in an emergency room setting for Forensic Evidence Collection LPNs are require to complete 20 contact hours every two years. There is also a targeted 1-time, 2-contact hour CE requirement for any LPN practicing in an emergency room setting for Forensic Evidence Collection See state website for specific requirements Texas Board of Nurse Examiners
Utah Renewal of an RN license requires one of the following every 2 years: 30 contact hours, OR 200 practice hours and 15 contact hours, OR 400 practice hours. Renewal of an LPN license requires one of the following every 2 years: 30 contact hours, OR 200 practice hours and 15 contact hours, OR 400 practice hours.vv See state website for additional renewal options Utah State Board of Nursing Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Vermont CE not required. CE not required. Vermont Board of Nursing
Virginia CE not required. CE not required. See state website for additional renewal options Virginia Board of Nursing
Washington Registered nurses (RN) and licensed practical nurses (LPN) are required to keep documentation showing at least 531 hours of active practice and 45 clock hours of continuing education within a three year cycle. The first cycle starts on your first birthday after initial licensure. You must attest every three years to reflect you have met the requirements for both practice and continuing education. Do not send documentation to the Nursing Commission in support of the attestations unless notified of an audit via your renewal notice. The Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission adopted rules in WAC 246-840-200 through 260 for an independent continuing competency program effective January 2011 and recently updated effective January 2016. Registered nurses (RN) and licensed practical nurses (LPN) are required to keep documentation showing at least 531 hours of active practice and 45 clock hours of continuing education within a three year cycle. The first cycle starts on your first birthday after initial licensure. You must attest every three years to reflect you have met the requirements for both practice and continuing education. Do not send documentation to the Nursing Commission in support of the attestations unless notified of an audit via your renewal notice. The Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission adopted rules in WAC 246-840-200 through 260 for an independent continuing competency program effective January 2011 and recently updated effective January 2016. License renewals will continue to be annual. The Nursing Commission sends a courtesy renewal notice to RNs and LPNs 90 days prior to license expiration. The renewal notice will indicate the continuing competency due date. Notice: You will see the attestation on your renewal notice when your renewal cycle ends. It is your responsibility to inform the Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission of any change in address, email, and telephone number, whether renewing or not. Washington State Nursing Care Quality Assurance Commission
West Virginia Completion of the 12 contact hours of CE required for RN relicensure may be accomplished by: 1. Completing 12 contact hours of CE from an approved CE provider; or 2. Completing 6 contact hours of CE from an approved CE provider which may include 2 contact hours of self-study and one of the following completed during the reporting period: A. National certification initially earned or in effect the entire reporting period; B. Completion of a nursing research project as principal investigator, co-investigator or project director; C. Published a nursing related article in a national nursing or healthcare journal; D. Developed and presented a professional nursing education presentation; E. Participated as a clinical preceptor for at least one student or one new employee undergoing orientation and have one hundred-twenty hours of one-on-one relationship as a clinical preceptor during the reporting period; F. Evidence of satisfactory evaluation of employment that covers at least six months of the reporting period; or G. Completion of an approved nursing refresher or re-entry course. LPNs are required to complete 24 contact hours of continuing education and engage in 400 clock hours of LPN practice in each 2 year reporting period. Reporting occurs on the even years. There is also a 1-time 2-contact hour requirement for end of life care including pain management. Click here to view our courses that were designed specifically for West Virginia.

See state website for additional requirements
West Virginia State Board of Examiners for Registered Professional Nurses
Wisconsin CE not required. CE not required. State of Wisconsin Department of Regulation and Licensing
Wyoming Requirement for RN relicensure: 20 contact hours in the last 2 years OR Combination of Nursing practice and contact hours OR Minimum 1600 hours in Nursing practice in the last 5 years OR Minimum 500 hours in Nursing practice in the last 2 years OR Passing NCLEX within the last 5 years OR National certification in specialty area in last 5 years OR Completion of a refresher/orientation program in the last 5 years Requirement for LPN relicensure: 20 contact hours in the last 2 years OR Combination of Nursing practice and contact hours OR Minimum 1600 hours in Nursing practice in the last 5 years OR Minimum 500 hours in Nursing practice in the last 2 years OR Passing NCLEX within the last 5 years OR National certification in specialty area in last 5 years OR Completion of a refresher/orientation program in the last 5 years See state website for additional renewal options Wyoming State Board of Nursing
Guam 30 hours every 2 years on 9-30 (odd numbered years) 30 hours every 2 years on 9-30 (odd numbered years) Guam Board of Nurse Examiners
 


Home     Registration     Contact Us     Security Info     Privacy Policy     Terms of Use

Copyright ©2017 AAACEUs All rights reserved.